Get coverage in minutes!

340981~|mapfre~|COCHE-32~|

Car

340981~|mapfre~|HOGAR-32~|

Property

Home > Blog > New Massachusetts Distracted Driving Law

New Massachusetts Distracted Driving Law

With distracted driving a growing problem, Massachusetts has passed a new law banning the use of handheld electronic devices while driving, barring looking at text, videos or images while driving. Drivers may continue to use electronics in “hands-free” mode. The law goes into effect on February 23, with a grace period for violations until March 31. Penalties will be a $100 fine for a first offense, $250 fine for a second offense and a $500 fine for subsequent offenses.

Exceptions
You will be permitted to use electronic devices under certain conditions, including:
• If you are in a stopped vehicle, and the vehicle is not in a public way intended for travel by motor vehicles or bicycles.
• If you are in or responding to an emergency situation.
• If you are using your device to view a map for navigation purposes and the device is mounted to the vehicle’s windshield, dashboard or center console.

Spread the word: distracted driving is dangerous – and against the law.

Articles

Taxes and Fees for Vehicle Registration in Massachusetts

Taxes and Fees for Vehicle Registration in Massachusetts

Whether you’ve just purchased a new car or a preowned vehicle, you’ll need to register your new ride. If you’re a Massachusetts resident, this guide walks you through the taxes and fees for registering your vehicle in the state.   What is Vehicle Registration?...

read more