As with most states, there are certain car insurance requirements vehicle owners must meet to legally operate a motor vehicle.
Massachusetts is no different. In MA, there are four types of compulsory coverage, or required car insurance coverage. Personal Injury Protection is one of these four required car insurance coverages in MA.
Personal Injury Protection is sometimes called No-Fault coverage. The no-fault system is designed to keep car insurance rates reasonable while simultaneously reducing car insurance court cases.
What does PIP cover in MA?
Sometimes called PIP or No-Fault coverage, this type of car insurance coverage typically offers financial support following a car accident that results in injury to you, your passengers or pedestrians (including you).
In Massachusetts, Personal Injury Protection typically covers three types of benefits up to the $8,000 limit including medical expenses, lost wages and replacement services.
PIP in MA typically covers necessary medical expenses including surgical, X-ray and dental services incurred as a result of the accident up to the policy limit. Personal Injury Protection can also cover ambulance, hospital, professional nursing and funeral services resulting from the accident up to the policy limit.
Additionally, PIP typically covers lost wages as a result of injuries incurred during a car accident. In Massachusetts, insurance companies can pay up to 75% of the injured party’s average weekly gross wage or equivalent for the year immediately before the accident.
If the injured person was unemployed at the time of the accident, they may be able to receive up to 75% of the amount they lost in earning power as a result of the accident.
Replacement services are also typically covered by PIP in MA. This means any necessary services that the injured party would have performed without pay for the benefit of the household could be covered through reimbursement.
Coverage and policies vary, as do situations. PIP doesn’t cover everything, so make sure you have enough liability coverage and have explored comprehensive and collision coverage. It’s always best to discuss options with your insurance agent and understand what’s covered by your specific car insurance policy.
What won’t PIP cover in MA?
PIP in Massachusetts will not apply in situations where the injured party was or is:
- Operating a motorcycle
- Under the influence
- Racing, speeding, stunting, or involved in demolition
- Committing a felony or avoiding arrest
- Seeking to cause injury to oneself or others
- Entitled to benefits under worker’s compensation for the same injury
- Using the vehicle as a public or livery conveyance, including a vehicle for hire through a ride share, car share, and transportation network service which operate under an agreement and for compensation.
What is the PIP limit in MA?
Personal Injury Protection limits in MA are simple because the only limit option is $8,000. This means the maximum your car insurance company could pay under PIP is $8,000 per person.
Higher or lower PIP limits are not available in Massachusetts at the time of publishing.
Do I need PIP in MA?
Since Personal Injury Protection is mandatory coverage in the Bay State, owners of vehicles must legally carry PIP on their car insurance policy in MA.
How does PIP work in MA?
PIP coverage is usually applied first in a claim when it’s applicable in MA. Therefore, PIP typically covers the first $8,000 in medical expenses, lost wages or funeral expenses.
If the injured party has health insurance, PIP will typically only cover up to $2,000 in medical expenses. PIP can cover additional medical bills if they aren’t covered by health insurance, however.
Additionally, Personal Injury Protection can cover benefits that health insurance typically won’t, like lost wages or funeral expenses. Regardless of how PIP is used, benefits cannot exceed $8,000 per person in Massachusetts.
In cases where PIP is exhausted and there are remaining damages, MedPay may be able to help cover the remaining medical expenses up to the selected limits on the policy.
What should I know when choosing a PIP deductible in MA?
When choosing a PIP deductible in MA, it’s important to remember this will need to be paid by the insured before coverage kicks in. If you choose a deductible, you’ll pay a smaller premium. However, PIP coverage will only be able to cover the difference between $8,000 and the deductible.
Since Personal Injury Protection is a non-negotiable in Massachusetts, it’s important to know what PIP can cover. To see if you could be saving on your Massachusetts car insurance, get a quote online with MAPFRE Insurance or contact a local independent agent near you.
Please Note: This article is meant only to provide general information about commonly available insurance coverages. Except as expressly noted, this content is not intended to describe any specific coverage offered by MAPFRE Insurance. No coverage is provided, bound or guaranteed by this article. Available coverages, credits and discounts vary from state to state and are subject to eligibility criteria and policy terms/conditions, which will control in the event of conflict between this article and your insurance policy. For information about your policy, please review your individual policy contract and speak with your insurance representative.
MAPFRE Insurance® is a brand and service mark of MAPFRE U.S.A. Corp. and its affiliates, including American Commerce Insurance CompanySM (Cal. COA 4928-8), Citation Insurance CompanySM, The Commerce Insurance CompanySM, Commerce West Insurance CompanySM (Cal. COA 1372-2), MAPFRE Insurance CompanySM (Cal. COA 3039-5), and MAPFRE Insurance Company of FloridaSM.